NASS Vilnius 2021

“Aklas Edipas” by Vincas Kisarauskas (licenced under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)

The XII conference of the Nordic Association for Semiotic Studies

“Meaning in Perception and the Senses”

Vilnius University

5–7 November 2021

Vilnius University Faculty of Philology, 5 Universiteto st., Vilnius

The program of the event can be downloaded from here.

The book of abstracts, edited by the organizers, can be downloaded from here.

Call for papers (download pdf)

THE XII NASS CONFERENCE will be hosted by the Algirdas Julius Greimas Centre for Semiotics and Literary Theory at the Faculty of Philology of Vilnius University in Vilnius, Lithuania.

The conference addresses perception and the senses. Perception and the senses are, for all sentient species, the gateway to the environment and to other organisms and individuals. As such, they are instrumental in comprehending and constructing the world as experienced and lived, and in many respects indistinguishable from semiosis and meaning. This makes their study in semiotics a necessary task.

As a constitutive element of experience and signification, perception and the senses are also an important element in media, cultures, worldviews and histories. Perception and the senses can be construed as a pliable conductor for intermediality, for our imaginaries, and for our bonds to environments and other sentient and sensitive beings as well as ourselves.

This conference focuses on how theories of meaning are positioned vis-à-vis perception and senses. We welcome papers investigating the relations between perception and the senses and a broad range of semiotic concepts – from representation and semiosis to language, signification, modalities and modelling.

CONFIRMED KEYNOTE SPEAKERS are Irina Melnikova (Vilnius University), Frederik Stjernfelt (Aalborg University), Irene Mittelberg (RWTH Aachen University), Jacques Fontanille (University of Limoges), and Kay O’Halloran (University of Liverpool).

ABSTRACTS are to be submitted in Word files to with the subject line “Abstract for NASS XII”. Your abstract submission should contain your (1) full name; (2) affiliation; (3) e-mail address; (4) paper title; (5) paper abstract, up to 500 words; (6) 3–5 keywords; (7) short bionote of up to 100 words. The deadline for abstract submission is 15 June, 2021. Notifications of acceptance will be sent out by 1 August, 2021.

While hoping for the best possible outcomes of the ongoing vaccination, we will be preparing for the likely restrictions and limitations that participants might face. For the time being, all such matters are to be decided ad hoc in due time.

In order to register for NASS XII, payment of a conference fee is required.
The early bird registration fee is 90€; the deadline for early bird registration has been extended to 1 September, 2021.
The late registration fee is 110€, and the deadline is 15 October, 2021.
The fee covers attendance, coffee breaks, lunch, and a conference program booklet.
Part of the fee (30 €) covers NASS membership for the period of 2021–2023.
There will also be a conference dinner, to be paid for separately. We will provide information later on.

The participants at NASS XII Vilnius.
The participants at NASS XII at Vilnius, 2021.

Between 5 to 10 graduate students presenting at NASS XII will be supported financially by the association with 250 € each. The best graduate student presentation will be awarded a prize of 300 €.

Graduate student grant winners are:

1. Chavez Baretto, University of Tartu
2. Declerck Sophie Anne, Loughborough University, London
3. Fadeev Aleksandr, University of Tartu
4. Frascaroli Jacopo, University of York
4. Kundrotaite Ausra, University of Vilnius
5. Lewis Amelia, independent researcher, current affiliation: Queen’s University, Belfast
6. Miyamoto Oscar, University of Tartu
7. Nayaruddin Muzayin, University of Tartu
8. Tragel Elli Marie, University of Tartu
10. Rahmanova Aynur, Tallinn University

Paulius Jevsejevas (conference chair:
Magdalena Slavinska (conference secretary:
Alin Olteanu (chair of the scientific committee:

Øyvind Eide (University of Cologne), Sara Lenninger (Lund University), Lauri Linask (Tallinn University), Juha Ojala (University of Oulu), Alin Olteanu (RWTH Aachen University, Kaunas University of Technology), Tiit Remm (University of Tartu), Inesa Sahakyan (Grenoble Alpes University), Morten Tønnessen (University of Stavanger)