Founded at an impromptu meeting of Nordic semioticians in Imatra, Finland, in 1987, the Nordic Association for Semiotic Studies (NASS) has organised six important and highly successful congresses, in Odense, Denmark, in 1990, in Lund, Sweden, in 1992, in Trondheim, Norway, in 1994, in Imatra, Finland, in 1996, in Oslo, Norway, in 1998, and in Copenhagen, Denmark, in 2000. An Internordic Symposium also took place in Imatra in 1990, and week-long Nordic Research Courses were organized in Lund, in July 1992, in Trondheim, in October 1994, in Imatra in June 1996, and in Oslo in June 1998, and November 2000, in Copenhagen. The most recent congresses were held in May 2011 in Lund, Sweden (NASS VII, see picture below), in May 2013 in Aarhus, Denmark (NASS VIII), in August 2015 in  Tartu, Estonia (NASS IX), and in June 2017 in Kaunas, Lithuania (NASS X).

Göran Sonesson in the middle.

The current board of NASS (2017-2019) counts the following members (Ordinary Representative listed first, then Supplementary Representative):

  • DENMARK: Luis Emilio Bruni + Søren Brier
  • ESTONIA: Lauri Linask (*Secretary) + Tiit Remm
  • FINLAND: Tommi Vehkavaara + Juha Ojala
  • ICELAND: n/a
  • LITHUANIA: Ulrike Varankaité + Alin Olteanu
  • NORWAY: Morten Tønnessen (*President) + Daria Segal
  • SWEDEN: Aleksei Semenenko + Sara Lenninger (*Treasurer)

The board has appointed Inesa Sahakyan as NASS’ Organizational Assistant.

NASS representatives in The International Association for Semiotic Studies – Association Internationale de Sémiotique (IASS-AIS): Luis Emilio Bruni and Morten Tønnessen.

To get in contact with NASS, please write to post@nordicsemiotics.org.